top of page

AN ALTERNATIVE WAY OF GOING TO EXCHANGE

Aktualisiert: 14. Apr. 2023

[Switzerland – Italy] One destination in mind, but many ways to get there. Enjoy a peculiar way to go to exchange semester and get some inspiration. Join me in my adventure by bike on my way to the Eternal City of Rome!




An alternative way of going to exchange As I got accepted to an exchange semester to Rome, I did not think much about how I would get there. When going to exchange without taking a flight, the Swiss-European Mobility Programme supports you, and alternative ways to get to Rome popped in my mind. As a biking amateur, the idea of getting there by bike grew in my mind and took the decision a few days before departure. Join me on my “spontaneous” adventure to exchange on the Via Francigena…


The Via Francigena The Via Francigena is an ancient road and pilgrimage route running from the cathedral city of Canterbury in England, through France and Switzerland, to Rome. Several thousands of people used to take the Via Francigena each year, it was a central spiritual but also commercial route.



Still today, it is an important route for pilgrims, either hitting the road by foot or bike.

Crossing the alps My itinerary starts in Martigny in the Rhone valley. As between Switzerland and Italy, some high mountains are on the way, you will need to take some altitude. A tough first step by passing the St. Bernardo Pass.



More than 1600 meters elevation and after a few hours and some honking cars encouraging me I guess, I got through the pass and at the same time, through the Italo Swiss border.


First days in Italy and on the Val d'Aosta The legislation about wild camping is not so clear to me in Italy, but I just did as usual (guts feeling). My second night in Val d’Aosta was however disturbed by a farmer who wanted to water his field and saw me at the very last moment. Anyway, he welcomed me and offered me breakfast on the next day.

The Italians were particularly welcoming, especially in the countryside where they will often get interested and engage the conversation.


Crossing the Val d’Aosta is enchanting. Following a river on a peaceful bicycle path surrounded by mountains and fruiting trees, the medieval history of the region is strongly felt with countless stunning castles.


The plain of Verceil A really particular landscape will accompany the next part of the route in the plain of Verceil, incomparable for its famous rice fields, animated by curious birds.



Some trubles are part of the fun It would be too easy to having a problem-free ride all the way down. After a few days and when passing through the forest because I thought it was nice, some spines got into my tires.




As a basic amateur, I changed both of them, but didn’t think about checking if there were more spines. Conclusion, probably a record breaker by changing my wheels 7 times in a single day!


It is getting hotter The troubles are away, and my adventure continues. I feel I’m getting southern, and the sun is hitting more, which is also enjoyable in the evening on a nice sleeping spot.




Crossing the Appenins More mountains now, another range that I need to cross are the Appenins. The first pass of many others is the Passo della Cisa, culminating at 1100 meters.



Altitude 0 meters

After a few days and a few thousand meters of elevation passed, I finally get to the Mediterranean see!

The famous Cinque Terre are closeby, but as I’m rushing with time I didn’t do the detour, it will be for later.


Roman paved roads

I feel I’m getting closer to the former center of the roman empire as more and more roman ruins and roads become observable. Roman roads are not the most comfortable to bicycle on, but at least I have some shock absorbers so I should be happy compared to them back then.



The cheat

I knew the timing would be short and as much as I’m trying to hit the road fast, I would not make it to the beginning of the semester. So I cheated myself and took the train to Sienna for about 100km. Fair, as I’m a serious student I don’t want to miss the beginning of classes ;)



My trip is continuing through Tuscany with beautiful old Italian villages, hills, nice countryside and nature, from olives plantation to vineyards. I arrive to Campagnano di Roma, a beautiful town where romans usually come for weekend trips. Some of them invited me to take a typical gelato from there.


Flat tires stopped being fun

A few more flat tyres later, I arrive to my last night spot in order to finish my trip in a nice way.



All paths lead to Rome

After 11 days of biking, 1000km riding and 10’000 meters uphill, I finally get to Rome, more precisely to the Vatican city to end up the Via Francigena in the correct way.



The feeling to arrive is amazing and I am (kind of) ready to start uni on the next morning!

 

Alexander Guye-Bergeret, Neuchâtel (CH)


Hey! :) If you have any questions regarding the trip do not hesitate to drop me a message on aguye4@gmail.com



 

98 Ansichten0 Kommentare

Aktuelle Beiträge

Alle ansehen
bottom of page