top of page

SOMEWHERE IN AFRICA - FROM SWITZERLAND TO KAPSTADT BY BIKE

Aktualisiert: 14. Apr. 2023

[Switzerland - South Africa] Jörg Heierli traveled through Africa by bike. In 563 days, he biked from Switzerland to Kapstadt and back. He passed through 21 countries and enjoyed landscapes on long 27'000 km. Read some extracts of his astonishing adventure here, or access his website directly.



Route:



​Schweizersholz, Italy, France, Spain, Morocco, Mauritania, Senegal, Gambia, Guinea Conakry, Sierra Leone, Liberia, Guinea, Ivory Coast, Ghana, Togo, Benin (Nigeria overflown), Cameroon, Gabon, Republic of Congo, Cabinda, (DRC overflown) Angola, Namibia, Botswana, Namibia, South Africa


Announcement: Jörg Heierli will tell us personally about his bike travel experience on the Trip Talk event on 17 April 2023! Sign up here to save your spot.


 

! Editor's note: The below paragraphs are just snippets of this year long travel (2018-2020), so you can get a grasp of what the bike adventure has been like. We invite you to check Jörg's personal website irgendwoinafrika.ch with blogs, maps, podcasts and events about his extensive experience, or to directly order his book where he shares all secret tips and detailed adventures!

 

Choum-Nouakchott, Mauritania

The desert here is very beautiful, there are sand dunes, nomad huts, now and then dromedaries and acacias. Sand blows across the road as a brown veil.



But I can't really enjoy this landscape. This damned wind. I didn't want to take the taxi this morning. After all, I want to do everything on my own. But after 35km I give up and try to stop a truck.

Finally one stops, it is transporting goats.


Around Mali Ville, Guinea Conakry


Despite still being tired from the heat stroke, I continue my journey along the dusty path. As I ask for water in a small village, made up of huts covered with straw roofs and brick houses, I get invited to stay for a few days.



A welcoming rest which will come along with some surprises, like wild chimpanzees and helping constructing a roof for one of the huts.




Gabon


Having just crossed the border to Cameroon, one big difference becomes apparent. There’s much less traffic and the forest right next to road is as high as a house.

It is full of live. Monkeys are climbing in the leaves, while I hear the sound of animals which I can’t see and can’t even tell, what they are.


A small cottage, made of well cut wooden boards, has risen the Gabonese flag. It’s the cottage of a village chief. Like so many times, I am sure I will be a welcome guest here.





Namib Naukluft, Namibia


To cycle through the deserts in southern Africa, is not for the untrained and inexperienced. Especially in summer, like I do.



Hardships like head wind, sand, bumpy roads, the heat, the sand in the food, the additional weight from water and food, the long distances, brings me and my equipment almost to my breaking point.

But it’s worth it…

Curious for more? Check out the countries visited and biked through on Jörg's own website here: irgendwoinafrika.ch or order his book with all the details!


 

Jörg Heierli, Bischofszell (CH)


Hey! :) If you have any questions regarding the trip do not hesitate to drop me a message on my website irgendwoinafrika.ch or visit one of my events to talk personally.



 



57 Ansichten0 Kommentare

Aktuelle Beiträge

Alle ansehen
bottom of page